the Nikean creed

One morning, I was minding my own business, getting ready for work, when the Holy Spirit spoke to my heart so clearly, it was almost as if I heard an audible voice.

“Jeffrey, you are not the savior of the world. I am.”

I know what you are thinking. Duh—right? But it stopped me dead in my tracks.

I have written about my youthful desire to “burn out for God.” Heroes of the faith loomed large in my mind, and I pictured myself praying and eventually becoming a man who would live every aspect of his life in sacrificial devotion, twenty-nine hours a day; I would become a heroic, selfless, humble soldier for Christ who would be willing to take up my cross, endure any hardship and face any danger with martyr’s courage. I would live inflamed with zeal to be a demon-destroying, injustice-shredding, glory-spreading, Word-wielding  warrior for Christ.

Also, of course, I was also completely responsible for everything that happened in my marriage and family. Surely, as head of the household, the well-being of my wife and children depended on me.

Not. Even. Close.

I believe that everyone’s life affects others, especially if we are “of the household of faith” (Galatians 6:10), because we are part of one Body, and therefore joined together under one Head (Ephesians 1:22, Colossians 1:18). But I notice something important in those Scripture passages: there is one Head, one Savior, and it isn’t me!

Unfortunately, many of us still are obsessively performance-oriented. It seems instead of following Jesus, we follow hard after the philosophy of a famous sportswear manufacturer:

JUST DO IT!

God saved you, after all; don’t you now owe him the courtesy of trying, with all your strength, to love him with all your heart and behave as he would expect you to? Aren’t we responsible to fix everything in our lives and the world around us?

Our weird works-based theology springs from the fallacy that knowing good and evil makes us like God. It doesn’t. God created us in his image, but we have all sinned, and spun off onto our own roads leading into the dark swamp of self-worship.We desperately need him to grab us by the shoulders, steady us, and set us on the path that leads to life. If we humble ourselves before Jesus, he creates something new out of our lives, declaring that we all have a great and glorious destiny and wonderful exploits to perform on this earth. But these spring from the desire and power of our King.

For by grace you have been saved through faith; and that not of yourselves, it is the gift of God; not as a result of works, that no one should boast. For we are His workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them. (Ephesians 2:8-10).

Get it? You are saved by faith; but God gives it to you. You are a marvelous new creation; but God did the creating without your help. You have incredible, world-changing works to do, but they were all planned out for you a long, long time ago.

Guess what? It’s not about you. It’s not about me, either.

We can try—God knows some of us try—but we can’t make ourselves holy, or zealous, or courageous, or loving, or merciful. We are absolutely dependent on the mercy and power of our Lord, not anything we can do. God desires and requires us to have hearts of grace-filled love, humbled by his mercy. So, in kindness, he gives them to us. He loves it when we trust him and place all our hope in what he accomplished for us through Jesus.

Our response of devotion springs from hearts filled with the powerful and merciful love of God. We can never earn that love, or pay him back for the sacrifice he made for us. He truly deserves that we would offer him our lives; so by HIS grace, we are able to respond to his gracious invitation with amazed gratitude. This is really good news for those of us who labor under a self-imposed yoke of sacrificial religious duty. Take a moment to read and ponder what Jesus said:

“Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.” (Matthew 11:28-30, The Message).

So, let’s take a deep breath, cease striving, and know that he is God!

Now, where did I put my copy of Foxe’s Book of Martyrs…….?

Leave a Reply

